Why?

This blog has been in the pipeline for some time. I’ve continually hesitated as to what I would want to do with a blog and also what it’s purpose would be, whilst firmly believing that this form of media needs to have a purpose.

In the past few months I have had the fortune to become a Lead Practitioner in Moving Image Education for Scottish Screen and have also been heavily involved in the creation of a filmmaking group at the school I work at. Both of these have allowed me to share my enthusiasm and knowledge of the moving image with others, both in a practical and critical  sense. Therefore it made sense that I should develop a blog that would work alongside these two remits.

Some of the aims of this are to create a platform where resources will be shared; where debates will emerge; where I can share developments of moving image education throughout the UK (especially Scotland); to create an avenue to share films created by the above mentioned group; and to chat about all aspects of film in general.

To get things started I’m attaching the latest document from Scottish Screen regarding Moving Image Education (MIE). Copies are available from Scottish Screen and the hard copy also includes a DVD. Would love to hear your thoughts about this document.

Enjoy and I look forward to blogging, blabbering and sharing.

MIEinScotland

moving image education_2009

7 thoughts on “Why?

  1. Welcome aboard, Andy! This is long overdue and I’m fairly sure I’m not the only person waiting to hear from you.

    I’m also delighted to see you setting out to take a ‘film’ slant to your blog as it allows me to ask you for two choc ices and a box of salted popcorn!

    Slainthe!

  2. Great to see the blog up and running Andy, and what better theme for someone like yourself. One of the things I hope to be promoting over the coming months as you know is MIE so between us, and with the help of others, I’m sure we’ll convince teachers of the benefits of using moving image to improve literacy. Look forward to sharing with you. In the meantime, lights, camera…….etc.
    Bill

  3. Thanks very much for the words of encouragement Neil and Bill.

    I can provide you with popcorn Neil, but you are forbidden to eat it during a showing!

  4. Hi Andy,

    Well done for taking the plunge – this looks like being a welcome and extremely interesting read. The real work of building the National Assessment Resource starts tomorrow, and I’m going to make sure that moving images are incorporated into it from the very start, so I look forward to asking advice and working with you on that.

    Congratulations,

    Gordon

  5. Great to see your blog up and running Andy. I can’t claim to know much about film and MIE, but I’m looking forward to finding out and learning much more from your posts and observations…

    Jaye

  6. You have inspired me Andy – great to see your new blog up and running. Inspiration on a personal level as I love film (Filmhouse/Cameo in Edinburgh) but also in terms of education too for variety of reasons.

    But also (as I think we discussed at the weekend) been thinking for a long time about my own blog and ideas I have in that respect. Maybe I should just stop thinking and do it – as you have!

    Looking forward to reading, learning and chipping in when I can! Good luck with it all!

    Jane

  7. Welcome to blogland Andy! About blooming time too! There are so few really enthused teachers doing media/images etc so I will be pointing my colleagues towards you !

    Best of luck and I WILL get to meet you one day – as they say ; Next year in Islay!

Leave a Reply

